Private or hidden contacts
Anyone who is on the client team or is listed on the Details tab of the contact will have access to the contact and all associated work.
Private or hidden work items
Any colleague who is a member of the work team or is assigned or @mentioned in a note or assigned a task will have access to the work item. On the Details tab of the work item, you will be able to see any work teams or other colleagues who have access.