How to use work filters

Work in Karbon is the ultimate place to view and optimize all of the jobs going on throughout your practice. But sometimes you may not want to view all your work. 

Work filters give you greater control to view only the work items that are relevant to you at any given time. You can customize your view to see what work needs your attention, hone in on all jobs that match what you're looking for, and save your most-used views so that you can access them quickly again.

Work filters are available in both views of Work: Kanban and list

Adding filters to your work view

At the top of Work, you will see an option to Add Filter.

Add_filter.png

You will then have the option to select what type of filter to apply from the drop-down menu. Your options include:

  • Assignee: work items assigned to a colleague/s or team member/s. 
  • Client owner: work items where your chosen colleague/s are the client owner.
  • Client: work items for chosen clients.
  • Status: work items that are currently in the status/es you select.
  • Work type: work items of the work type/s you select.
  • Start date: work items due to start in your specified period.
  • Due date: work items that are due in your specified period.

Select_filter.png

Depending on what filter you choose, you will then be able to select what you wish to show. For example, if you apply the work type filter, you will be able to select what work type/s you would like to view. 

Filter_by_type.png

Once you select Apply, only work items that match what you have specified will appear in your work view.

There is no limit to the number of filters you are able to apply. Follow the same steps, you can build upon your filters you have already added. 

Add_second_filter.png

As you add more filters, you will create a view that hones in and shows you only the work items that are relevant to you.

Pro tip: when you use work filters on your Kanban board, you may find it useful to turn off your empty columns.

Work_filter_kanban_view.png

Saving a work view

If you create a view using filters that you will want to come back to again, you can add it to your list of saved views. The saved view you create will also remember what mode you are viewing (List or Kanban), and the columns that you are showing or sorting by.

When you have created your view, choose Save view.

Save_view.png

You'll then have the option to choose a name for your view so that you can jump to it quickly in the future. 

Choose_saved_view.png

Editing a work view

When you are in a saved work view, you can add or remove filters, or make other changes to it. You will then have the option to update your saved view to reflect these changes, save it as a new view, rename, or delete it.

Edit_saved_view.png

You will find it useful to create and save views to help you manage specific workflows at various times throughout your year. For example, during tax season, you may wish to create and save a view using filters to give you an overview of your relevant work items. At the completion of tax season, you can delete the view if it is no longer relevant.

Was this article helpful?
With your feedback, we can improve the quality of our answers.